Car crashes are unexpected, frightening and stressful. They can happen to anyone even the most careful of drivers. There are simple precautions that you can take in the event of a car crash.
Drivers should be prepared if an accident happens. If you have not already prepared an emergency kit, do so now so that in the event of an accident you will be able to respond effectively during and after an accident.
Your emergency kit should have
- A first aid kit
- Trash bags
- Paper towels (or rags)
- Disposable camera
- Warning cones, triangles or similar illumination devices
- Jumper cables
- Note pad and pen or pencil
First thing to do after an auto accident
- Stay calm—do not panic
- Relocate your car to a safe location—but don’t leave the scene
- Make sure that no one is hurt
- Call 911 immediately for medical attention
- Have medical information readily available to give if requested
- Don’t admit fault
- Notify DMV within a few days
Set up warning triangles, cones, or emergency flares to alert other motorists that there has been an accident. Notify the police that there has been a car crash—even if it seems minor. Be sure to cooperate with them.
Call your insurance company to report the accident.
Many people forget to gather information from everyone that was at the scene of an accident. Make sure to get the tow company’s information if your car is towed as well as the contact information for witnesses and other drivers.
Obtain comprehensive information about all vehicles involved—year, make, model of car. Obtain information about insurance provider and policy number. Copy license plate numbers of all cars involved in the accident.
Your personal check off list when involved in a car crash
Note the answers to these questions in your emergency note pad.
- Were you and the other drivers and passengers wearing seat belt?
- Were you or the other driver’s texting or using other hand held devises at the time of the accident?
- Were you or the other driver speeding?
- Did anyone make an improper turn?
- Were you on the right side of the road?
- Was anyone under or appear to be under, the influence of alcohol or other controlled substances?
Ask for the collision report
In Austin, collision reports can be purchased at the Main Police Headquarters.
Contact the Texas Department of Transportation
If you don’t call the police you are required by law to file a crash report with the Texas Department of Transportation within 10 days if there are fatalities or injuries, the driver is unlicensed or does not have insurance, was intoxicated or property damage is over $1000.
At the time of an accident, you may not be able to think clearly. An Austin car crash lawyer can help protect your interests under these traumatic circumstances.
Even if you are a little sore or not very sore at all you should still get checked out by the doctor because you may be in shock and not able to feel the injuries you have sustained. Once the adrenaline wears off you may be in a lot of pain. Then it is time to see the doctor and call your Austin car crash lawyer.